NRPC Brownfields Assessment Program

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) defines a brownfield as a property where the expansion, redevelopment, or reuse may be complicated by the presence or potential presence of a petroleum or hazardous substances. It is estimated there are more than 450,000 brownfields in the U.S. and over 100 brownfields in the NRPC region. 

Brownfield sites are often abandoned, vacant, or under-used industrial or commercial properties. They can also be former schools, hospitals, multi-family residential properties, former gas stations, dry cleaners, warehouses, or car dealerships. Single family residential properties are generally not considered brownfield properties.  NRPC is currently in the process of developing an inventory of potential brownfields for all 13 municipalities in the region.

Generally, sites that have a real or perceived environmental concern are eligible to participate. Public or private property may be eligible. The NRPC Brownfields Advisory Committee works with its Qualified Environmental Professional (QEP) Credere Associates, and the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (NHDES) and EPA regulatory agencies to confirm eligibility when selecting sites for assessment.

If you are interested in participating in the NRPC Brownfields Assessment Program, the property owner, buyer, or representative must submit a Site Nomination form to NRPC.  Upon acceptance of the nomination form and discussion with the applicant, NRPC will request eligibility determination from the EPA for approval. If approved, the NRPC will contact the applicant to schedule a site visit. An access agreement must also be signed by the current owner of the property after the site nomination process is complete.



NRPC Access Agreement Form

NRPC Site Nomination Form

NRPC Brownfields FAQ


Environmental Protection Agency Logo



It is estimated that there are over 100 brownfields sites in the NRPC region